300ZX (Z32) Forums Dedicated to 90-96 ZCars otherwize known as the Z32's

95 NA Engine Removal..

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2011, 07:32 PM
Cap

95 NA Engine Removal..

NooB here.

I have a '95 300 NA that has seen 200K Tough Miles.. Original Motor. It's been in the Family for about 5 Years, and Wondering when she would let go.

I think the Massive amounts of Oil Goo in the Radiator, is the Clue that we were waiting for. Still runs Fine.. but that Puking Oil is rather annoying

Having done all the Maintenance on Both Z's that graced the Family, I have learned that engine room is not something they gave too much of!..

I'm not Big Fan of shredding the Engine, Tranny, and all the Wiring, trying to get the Pieces out the Top.. Has anyone Dropped the Engine and Tranny Complete through the Bottom?.. if so, and good Pictures of the Dolly?..

I'm Tired of leaving Knuckle Meat on the Firewall when working on this thing, and it sure looks like it will come out nicely, if I Undo the Lower A Arm, Pull the Sway Bar, the Rack Knuckles, the Tranny Cross member.. Exhaust and a Few other 'Snags'.. Then lift the Body off the Power Train.. ( Not a Problem for Me )

This will also make a Good 'Engine Stand' for the next Stages of Repair.. Makes for good Pictures too..

Thoughts?..

Thanks in advance..

Cap
Old 12-19-2011, 08:21 PM
Horsepower Mathematician

I'm pretty sure it's impossible to drop any engine through the bottom since that's kind of where it's fastened...
Old 12-19-2011, 08:28 PM
The Good Twin

Welcome to ZDriver!

Originally Posted by Cap
Thoughts?..
I worked the Google-Machine for you...

http://diy.icydesigns.com/article/17.../#.TvANtXozKSo

http://forums.nicoclub.com/need-tips...s-t456232.html

https://www.zdriver.com/forum/showthread.php?t=29410

I suggest listening to the experts. And following the FSM.

Originally Posted by Rupe
I'm pretty sure it's impossible to drop any engine through the bottom since that's kind of where it's fastened...