300ZX (Z31) Forums Dedicated to 84-89 ZCars otherwize known as the Z31's

87 turbo originally idling rough/won't accerlerate now won't start

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2015, 02:48 PM

87 turbo originally idling rough/won't accerlerate now won't start

So I am new to the z31 world, I have done plenty on the earlier z's(70-83). I just bought a 87 turbo and it would start and idle really rough, but would stumble and not accelerate. I had it running and was trying to keep it running hoping it was just because it sat for a while. Well then it stalled and now it will not start. It turns over well but just will not fire. There is good spark coming out of the coil, but I have not checked the individual plugs yet. I cracked the fuel line at the filter and seems to have decent pressure(I don't have a pressure gauge to see exactly what the pressure is). It has a Jim Wolf ECU and a Apexi Super AFC on it. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.
Old 10-29-2015, 04:44 PM

A cold compression test would be a good start ,unless you are saying it ran fine ,then just quit
Old 10-29-2015, 04:46 PM

No it would idle but really rough....far from running fine.
Old 10-29-2015, 06:07 PM
Grumpy & Helpful

here is a start:
Get your battery load tested. Be sure you have clean, tight corrosion free terminals on both ends of your battery cables. Be sure the ground (negative) cable goes to a bolt into the frame before going to the starter. grounding through the starter is not a reliable connection. Z's don't like low voltage. causes the electronics to act funny. it is possible to have enough amps to crank but not enough voltage to run the electronics. If you have one size fit all cheapo clamp on terminals they are a problem waiting to happen. Usually on a rainy night around Oh Dark Thirty.