The Lounge (Off Topic) Talk about daily events, or other items not really related to the ZCars in any way.

New to the Z world!

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2010, 11:38 PM

New to the Z world!

Hi everyone! I'm very new to the Z world, I converted over from a '00 Hyundai Tiburon, so I just bought a 91 NA Auto Z32 about a week ago! I, very soon, hope for convert that auto to a manual! I would post pics up but I would get my post rejected since I don't have my two posts yet but that's ok, there will be plenty of time for that later!
Alright, so I'm very thrilled about the body of my new baby, very minor blemishes in a few places, but nothing noticeable unless you're looking for them. Mechanics... not so good... and seem to be getting worse by the day... When I bought it, the guy told me it has a minor timing issue, so it idles rough until it warms up. "that's ok" I thought, "no biggie" So I get it home, and took the wife for a ride with the T Tops off. I hear the high pitch squeeling, and said, "crap the brakes are bad"... So I took it to a really good shop I know and had them do an inspection on the car. I was told that my brakes are 90% gone, my rotors are warped from the brakes being in bad shape, my struts are pretty much dead, and that a lot of my steering needs to be replaced... Well, we ordered some new parts and the steering is good now.
I'm looking to pick up the brakes part after payday, so any recommendations are most welcome! (I'm not looking to do any upgrades, yet, so I'm on a tight budget!!) I may just go with the Rotor and pads combos that are all over Ebay right now... just till I can get something good. Then I'll do my struts on the the next paycheck... lol