300ZX (Z31) Forums Dedicated to 84-89 ZCars otherwize known as the Z31's

Considering buying a high-mileage 50th Anniversary

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2013, 06:35 AM

Considering buying a high-mileage 50th Anniversary

Ok guys so I'm kind of new to the z31 scene. I've been looking around craigslist for a decent sporty car for cheap. What I ended up finding recently is an '84 300ZX turbo 50th Anniversary edition. And he's ok with trading straight up for my 2001 250 enduro bike..

Only problem is it seems sketchey. 200k miles and he doesn't know much about it. It looked great minus the seat tears. And considering it's a sought out car (only 5k+ of this version in the U.S.?) I want to know if you z31 owners think it's a good deal? Thanks
Old 12-10-2013, 06:48 AM

Oh and probably should've mentioned he drives it every once in a while and it runs fine, but he said it has died but thinks its bad gas? I'd be driving around 150 miles with the bike to it so I don't want to be unsure if I want it/if it will even make it back.
Old 12-10-2013, 08:32 AM
The Good Twin

Welcome to ZDriver!

Originally Posted by Drake1416
And he's ok with trading straight up for my 2001 250 enduro bike..

I want to know if you z31 owners think it's a good deal?
Well, how much is your bike worth?

Z31's had a lot of rust problems just like the 240z - 280zx... I dealt with an 84 AE a few years ago, nasty rust all over it, but ran like a champ.

If it died (meaning it cranks but won't start), it could be several things. If it has 2+ year old gas, that might be a contributing factor. Dunno what else to tell you with very little info (no pics) given.
Old 12-10-2013, 10:29 AM
Grumpy & Helpful