280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

Need Help on purchase (ASAP)

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2007, 08:01 PM
Poor kid, no ruler

Need Help on purchase (ASAP)

Okay, I 've been given the chance to buy the following car for the low price of only 900 dollars. Engine and tranny are near perfect, however the suspension on the car is bad and it shakes once it hits 20 mph. I went with my friend's dad and he advised me against buying it due to rust, and the fact that it probably needs it's whole suspension redone as well as a wheel alignment a new start plug, possibly a new muffler (it smells), and he said new struts.

I love the car, but if I get this it will also be my daily driver so I need it to work. My main concern is the suspension, how much do you think it would cost? I've never worked on a Z before, but I've helped with 240sx's before and a few Hon-Duhs.

Old 06-18-2007, 08:17 PM
The Good Twin

$900 isn't too bad... but you can score a 280zx for half that quite easily. Try to haggle with them if you can.

A shake above 20mph is more than likely a bent or very out of balance tire, tho it could be a suspension prob if someone hit a curb / car.

Stock replacement parts are easy to come by and low priced. Check out www.thezstore.com and www.blackdragonauto.com for all your parts.

And welcome to ZDriver!
Old 06-18-2007, 08:23 PM

Suspension costs will vary, but you can get something decent (not performance) for about $300. The car looks like it's been over a curb once or twice...just by looking at the damage to the front under the bumper. The engine is clean. The rust is minimal-ish. You might want to pop the rear hatch and look at the bottom of the rear window for rust because of the missing wiper.

Under the car, look for bent pieces (steering, sway bar, etc...) that shouldn't be. Also look for rust, scratches and dents. If you can, pull the carpet up in the front and see if the floor pans are rusted.