240Z, 260Z, 280Z (S30) Forums Dedicated to first generation ZCars

280z problem - smoke + no power

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2007, 12:35 PM

280z problem - smoke + no power

Posted on another few forums, with no a lot of luck.

Hey, i'm a little new to z's, but i bought a 1977 280z and were trying to get it running. At first it wouldn't start at all, and a little replacing of fuel line, cleaning out the tank, fuel filters, etc. we got it running and idling perfect. Very little smoke

The problem is when you actually give it gas, sometimes at cold start it will rev up almost perfect and its actually drivable for about 2 minutes, then it just loses power. There is smoke coming out the exhaust, and we made sure its not water, but we haven't ruled out fuel or oil. We tested all the electronics and they seem good.

It will produce a smokescreen at high rpms (if you can get it there - 1500+) but will have little smoke at idle. The smoke smells a little like gas, but a lot like fuel.

The plugs have oil on them, and were still trying to determine where its coming from, it has good compression, so i'm thinking the head. But is this why there is such a performance decrease?

I'm going to try and find a junkyard head and try that one out, could there be an electronic problem?

Thanks for the help.
Old 07-09-2007, 12:39 PM
The Good Twin

Welcome to ZDriver!

What color is the exhaust smoke?

white = burning coolant
black = running too rich
blue = burning oil

Running rough is prolly a mis-tuned AFM, CHTS, air regulator, or wiring prob.
Old 07-09-2007, 01:01 PM

We ruled out coolant (level is fine, coolant is clean, oil is clean).

It is defiantly burning oil (has to be from the valves), but there is also a gas smell, so im sure its too rich. I have no idea how to fix the richness problem, as this older injection is new to me. I tested the sensors as the service manual suggested, but i'm thinking something is wrong with one of the sensors causing this.