240Z, 260Z, 280Z Performance / Technical Discussions related to performance motor enhancements, upgrades.

new n42 with su's running lean...

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2014, 04:47 AM

new n42 with su's running lean...

new motor with su carbs swapped in last night along with first start..

running lean which i dont like.. also dont think coolant is flowing correctly.
thermostat might be failed/stuck shut, is it ok to remove and flow wide open?
temp shoots to 190 quite fast, oil pressure reads around 25-30ish psi.. not happy with that either. oil level is spot on the 'full' mark on the stick.

n42 block and head, stock internals, new gaskets, e88 intake, su carbs.

first start straight off header.. timing is set on 0.. might have 2 degrees + or -

there is mixture adjusting nuts on the bottom of su carbs.. which way do i turn and how to set those? i got a unisync too for airflow adjustments..

how should i approach this? this is my first time tuning a new motor.. want to break in properly and run a long time..

any advice is greatly appreciated.. thankyou.
Old 08-14-2014, 08:06 AM

Turning the mixture nuts up towards the carb body will lean them out.

Check out posts 42-44 on this thread: https://www.zdriver.com/forums/240z-...z-39721/page2/

Is the cooling system holding temperature steady at 190? If so, what's the problem? That said, I don't know if it's OK to run with no thermostat (probably hurts overall performance) however, if you're considering removing it, why don't you just replace it? They aren't very expensive and the extra labor effort is tiny. If you don't, later on when you've got everything else running OK, you'll be opening it up again (yet another gasket and/or goup) to put one in. Just do it now IMHO.