240Z, 260Z, 280Z Performance / Technical Discussions related to performance motor enhancements, upgrades.

280z ticking noise

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2007, 09:58 PM

280z ticking noise

I bought a 1977 280z with unknown miles and the body is in great shape and I have been driving nonstop since i got it, and it started making some pretty nasty ticking noises and so my dad and I adjusted the valves to the tolerances in the manual so i am pretty sure it's not a valve tick. I believe it's an exhaust issue but not sure, pretty good exhaust smell in the car. On revving the engine it pops out the muffler coming back down. One of the lobes of my cam has some scarring on it, don't know what to make of that. I am planning on doing an entire exhaust kit to the car headers to tip, but i don't know what would be best. On motorsportauto they have a few choices but i'm new to the Z car, I would like something that sounds tough, but when i'm on the freeway i don't want to deafen myself. Any ideas? I have a few more issues that i have questions on so i'll list them and if people want to throw ideas at me that's cool and if not that's alright.

1. Tach moves up smoothly until about 4400 and then starts jumping around back towards 0 and when i shift it goes back up and does it again in each gear.

2. Radiator overflow was low so i filled it up to the max line, and recently it filled itself to overflowing. Car is running at about 195 and i don't know the regular operating temp. I'm thinking replace the thermostat (motorsportauto has a 160 and 180 so i'm confused there) and possibly the water pump if needed.

3. Heater doesn't seem to be working, even when the car is warmed up. Maybe due to issues with coolant.

4. Belt squeal is notable on takeoff, i replaced the alternator belt last weekend because it broke after driving 120 miles straight. The belts seem like they are tight enough.