The Lounge (Off Topic) Talk about daily events, or other items not really related to the ZCars in any way.

new camcorder need help

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2005, 06:22 AM
Z8 driver

new camcorder need help

Hey guys, just picked up this little gem, Panasonic GS31

now I want to connect this thing to my PC to do a little editing, but I cannot figure out what cable I need. I know a lot of you guys (nismopick, etc,) are into capturing video, but I am very new to this. anyone able to point me in the right direction? As far as I know, I guess there is a cable that I can plug from the camcorder straight to a usb port??

jason
Old 12-16-2005, 06:43 AM
The Cake Is A Lie!

i dont think usb is fast enough for capturing video off mini dv. most use firewire. or you could get a tv tuner card with ins for A/V or S-video or RCA depending on what your cam uses.
Old 12-16-2005, 06:49 AM
S13 or Z32?....decisions, decisions.

Looks like according to the specs from CC, it uses either a USB or Firewire port (IEEE 1394). Just hook your camera up to the USB and it should recognize it. It may do a little driver or application loading process when you first hook it up, thats just to let your computer see the device. Once the OS sees it, you should be able to access all of your video files by going to My Computer and clicking on your video camera icon (the video files may be in a subdirectory).

Sorry, I don't have much experience with VIDEO cameras, but quite a bit w/ digi/vid cameras, and none w/ Panasonic. It sounds like the same basic process: Just hook it up (USB in your case), Let the computer find it, Open the video camera folder/directory, Select video. Hope this helps, good luck