300ZX (Z32) Performance / Technical Discussions related to Turbo charging, Supercharging, Engine, ECU, exhaust, and etc. performance enhancements and Techical related.

My Guess Is Ignition Problems?!?!?!?!?!

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2006, 06:33 PM

My Guess Is Ignition Problems?!?!?!?!?!

Alright this is a weird one. For the last couple of days my turbo timer would flicker and reset whenever I would go over a harsh dip or bump on the road, and sometimes my head unit would shut off as well.

Last night I was on my way home and I noticed that the car started to die when I was on my way out on the street. Next thing you know it died completely. I tried cranking it again, but not even a turn or click was heard. The funny thing is my car was on the ON position but the instrument panel was not on. Headlights were working fine and so was the interior lights, but the instrument panel, head unit, and turbo timer was not going on.

Well I'm no mechanic, but for the engine to crank, the instrument cluster has to be on during the ON position, i think. Like I said, I'm no mechanic. Well, me and my buddy tried jumping it and no go the first couple of times. I told him to rev it the second time and the instrument panel went back on so i cranked it. I decided to let the car idle so that the battery could recharge, but after 15 min., the car died again - no lights in the instrument panel again during the ON position.

I don't know what the hell is wrong with this car. I love Z's but good Lord, these cars are notorious for problems occuring often. I checked the battery this morning and the negative terminal seemed a little bit loose, so I tightened it, but still no power in the instrument panel when the key in the ignition is in the ON position.