300ZX (Z31) Performance / Technical Discussions related to Turbo charging, Supercharging, Engine, ECU, exhaust, and etc. performance enhancements and Techical related.

I ****ed up… Bought a 84 Z31 that was totalled in 2018 for $4000 CAD

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2023, 01:33 PM

I ****ed up… Bought a 84 Z31 that was totalled in 2018 for $4000 CAD

1984 Nissan 300zx Turbo

Hi, so I’m new to owning cars and I’ve only ever had ford pickups. In my First year of college and I decided to pick this up for a fun summer car. Seemed great when I checked it out. Rough around the edges but nothing I couldn’t fix.

6 days after purchase I was looking for some stuff to check on and I looked up what to look for when buying and somebody mentioned accidents… well somebody I know said it was not original paint and then I got worried. I did a CARFAX and sure enough there was a total loss in 2018.

Called the seller and he said he didn’t know about that and he bought it off somebody in Wasaga beach Ontario. The owner before him had it for his son and eventually sold it after it was sitting around not being driven. I’ve been trying to reserve lookup the original owner (after total) to get a story behind the repairs done. No luck so far.

The seller (I bought it from) never registered it and didn’t know about the accident (so he says) when I took a first look at it seem I’m pretty decent condition and I couldn’t visually seek anything messed up on the frame. I did notice a little but if a rough spot like it ran over a curb near the transmission area but nothing major.

Now I have a car I over paid for and has a bad history on it. I’ve learned my lesson and called myself every name in the book for this stupid mistake.

I wanted to come on here and ask what steps I should be taking next. What should I be looking for or replacing? I’m stumped on what actions to take next.

Last edited by JaredB02; 04-13-2023 at 01:37 PM.
Old 04-25-2023, 06:03 AM