300ZX (Z31) Forums Dedicated to 84-89 ZCars otherwize known as the Z31's

New 85 z31 owner

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2013, 04:03 PM

New 85 z31 owner

Just bought one from a friend who said the engine and transmission are in good shape, well I agree they are but I just got done replacing the pressure hose for the power steering, and as soon as I fix that a new problem and this one is making no sense. Also please note I'm not a car guy, I bought this car so I could figure cars out and I have a laundry list that it needs lol. Its a 1985 non Turbo TT

But my current problem before i replaced the pressure hose both headlights raised, now only the drivers side comes up, the passenger side does not. I'm currently confused as to what I might have done and remember please I'm new to working on my own cars.

Also my laundry list of work to be done is this if anyone has any useful information

Replace interior (stained and sunbaked original has to go)
Fix rust inside and outside the car especially in the hatchback area
figure out why my digital controls in the center do not light up
find out why the AC only blows from the far passenger side vent
convert it to eletronic entry and hopefully an automatic phnomic hatchback so I can just open it with ease
Install a desktop computer with a small 7-8in touchpanel for music using my own custom linux distro (the install I need help with, computers however are my career lol)
Paint the car
replace the driver side fender
fix the dents and repaint the car.
put turbo's on the car

Last edited by shellofinsanity; 05-28-2013 at 04:08 PM.
Old 05-28-2013, 08:14 PM

fixed it it seems when i replaced my hose i knocked loose a connection without realizeing it, also here is some pics of my car

as you can tell I have my work cut out for me for the first car i really start to work on.
Old 05-29-2013, 03:55 PM