280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

What to keep in stock for a proper z garage?

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2011, 02:25 PM

What to keep in stock for a proper z garage?

Well my 1980 project is comeing closer to finish got some rust repair in the rear and finishing touches.

Now I own a 80 280 zx a 72 240 and looking into a 83 zxt. My z broker so to speak.

Has around 150 engine/transmissions n thousands of z parts. Hes getting a lil rough health wise so if im going to keep my beloved zs best get buying him out.

He explained 2.8 rebuilds are very nasty due to the geometry between the cam gear and the crank more than .02 head clean-up risk wrecking the motor. More commen improper valve jobs can kill the head and pistons.

Im a cnc machinist so I can understand what hes saying but is it worth keeping 4 or 5 blocks n transmissions around?

Are the front end steering suspension parts still orderable? Lil worried I joined the z club a lil late anyone know if z's are a growing collection or is it just the 70 yr old original owners finally draggin them out of there storage graves.

Like to know where to go with this another 10 yrs really how many will be left?

Lastly is it really worth owning a turbo. He explained to me 3 things

1. 280 zxt's turbos wount make it to 80 k
2. Never own a 84 to 86 and 91 to the end of 300zx's v-6 motors were junk
3. Any digital interior should make you run far far away. Un repairable.

Guy knows alot but I like to confer with everyone see whats opinon and fact to make an sound decision on what cars im buying from him and what parts I truely must have in stock to keep my z around for at least 10 - 15 years thank you all
Old 02-03-2011, 02:54 PM

Lesnocker,