280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

Really iritating starting problem....

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2006, 11:01 PM

Really iritating starting problem....

Hey everyone, I'm hoping someone out there can help me as I am a noob when it comes to my Z, but I'm trying to learn.
A short while ago my 83 280zx developed a problem. Occasionally it would not start, it would only spin. If I cycled the key off, then on and let the fuel pump prime it would normally run a little rough until I gave it some gas.
One day it started, would run for 10 seconds, and then shut off like you turned the key off. Again, it would start back up if your primed the fuel pump, but would die every time. It did this for about an hour- checked spark, ok spark, even tried a dif ignition coil I had around and no change. After an hour it went away and the car ran.
Today I was driving about 35 and the car just died and would not restart. I checked all my conections and still nothing. I checked my fuses, all good and checked what relays i could. The only one I could not check and verify if good was the 6 prong one. I do not seem to be getting any spark. I know that the coil I have on now is good. What should I look for next. Again, I'm not very knowledgable... byt my next guess would be a control module of some sort. Is this the small black box behind the driver headlight? If so, is there a way to check it? Also, once the fuel pump primes, the is a small sucking/squishing sound that seems to be coming from the rails. I checked the plugs and they seem dry, but is it possible for an injector to be frozen open and dumping fuel?

The only thing I've done to the engine (L28 non turbo) is to advance it to 15*, I did this on behalf of the local nissan guru who suggested it after my vacuum advance broke.

I would appreciate any help y'all could give me.

Last edited by Swede958; 01-02-2006 at 11:05 PM.
Old 01-03-2006, 07:54 AM
The Good Twin