280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

My last few Z questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2011, 10:19 AM

Question My last few Z questions

Hi, just finishing up my 82 280ZX, and I'm noticed a few problems I thought you guys might know. Any help is very appreciated.

- Well first I replaced the front brakes and bleed the brakes, but now the pedal sinks to the floor. The pedal was stiff before, and was sitting for a couple weeks, I was thinking the master cylinder could of froze up in that time and now it's leaking, because the rear master cylinder bleeder has air come out, but no where else it has air just brake fluid. Here is how I bleed the brakes, front MC, rear MC, right rear, left rear, front right, left right. I work on cars for a living so I know what I'm doing, but did I miss something?

- Which is the coolant temp sensor that goes to the gauge in the dash, there is like 4 of them, and the wires are too discolored to tell the color. Is it the one that has the two pin connector?

- Also, kind of weird thing is when it's idling low (600-800rpm range), if I take the oil filler cap off the engine will die. If I take the dipstick out it won't. The only thing I can think of is that it needs that crankcase pressure, but taking the dipstick out don't effect it and the compression test on this engine was good...is there some kind of safety feature I'm not aware of?