280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

'83 280zx dies once it reaches operating temp

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2012, 01:03 AM

'83 280zx dies once it reaches operating temp

I'm new to Z cars, and I absolutely love mine, though it needs a lot of work to get it running in tip-top shape.

I bought it about 4 months ago. The guy who sold it to me knew very little other than that it sat in a garage for 5+ years. Old plates had tags good until '07, so I figured that information was credible

Anyway, on to the main problem. Shortly after I bought it, I replaced the oil, thermostat, plugs, wires, and distributor cap, as well as the fuel filter. Maybe 3 weeks after these replacements, it would die at seemingly random intervals. It was nothing dramatic, the engine just cut all of the sudden, sometimes at stop-lights and sometimes on the freeway. I would have to pull over/push it off the road and wait maybe 10 minutes and then it would start again, and I would be good to go for another 15 minutes of driving before it died again and I would have to wait. If I tried to start it right after it died on me, the motor would turn over just fine, but would not start.

So after getting it home (had it at college when the problem started occurring), I looked at the distributor cap and rotor and found that the center connection that goes from the cap to the rotor was totally burnt and pretty much was not there anymore. The electricity was having to arc to reach the rotor. Here are a couple pics of when that happened:

Fast-forward to a replaced cap and rotor (and a much smoother idle), car would still die. Took a look under the hood and the new parts were just dandy. After reading a bunch online and looking at the Haynes for my model, I decided to check out the ignition coil. Took it out just a couple hours ago and found something interesting:

Pic of the coil installed and hooked up normally:

Pic of an odd bare-metal spot on the coil: