280ZX Performance / Technical Discussions related to Turbo charging, Supercharging, Engine, ECU, exhaust, and etc. performance enhancements.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

date/ car help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2006, 02:48 AM

date/ car help!!!

heya guys

long time no see hey

i have a situation on my hands, im taking a nice oyung lady out this saturday and i want to introduce her to the finer points of Zeding in my 280 but the damn thing started running like **** today....

woke up in the morning and tried to start her took me ages and she sounds very rough..

ok it starts and just has a very rough idol..... not the normal purr from the exhauste, it sounds more like a popping kinda sound.... it revs slower and there is alomst no power at all....certainly not drivable any long distance

my first thoughts are fuel or spark problem, maybe timing?.....then maybe MAF??

i dunno, im no expert and id appreciate all the help i can get... really want her back on the road b4 sat....otherwise its the boring old parents car

thanks heeps guys
Old 03-29-2006, 07:08 AM

First check the timing. A mis-timed engine can easily cause the problems you mention. Then make sure your spark plugs are all firing a nice strong spark and make sure all your fuel injectors are firing. After that you can start worrying about why. And we'll be here to help
Old 03-29-2006, 07:27 AM
The Good Twin

So nothing was touched or changed... just went to start it this morning & it runs crappy?

yeah... do what J says... thas my advice!
Old 03-29-2006, 09:48 PM

cool guys thanks for the help

ill look into it, and keep yall posted
Old 03-29-2006, 11:04 PM

ok yes im a retard

iv searched the net a bit, looked in the maual, looked in the instructions for the timing light....where the **** is the mark that i need to check the timing??.... which pully is it on??

sorry for the retarded post but i cant find the bastard newhere
Old 03-29-2006, 11:40 PM