240Z, 260Z, 280Z (S30) Forums Dedicated to first generation ZCars

how 'bout an opinion?

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2006, 12:37 PM

how 'bout an opinion?

I have an early 74 260z, which is stock except for the dual Weber carbs. I am hoping to make this thing a reliable daily driver with a little extra get-up-and-go. My tentative plans are to put a 4-barrel intake from Arizona Z Cars, a Holley 390, and probably electronic ignition. I would like to see 180-200 hp. My questions are, 1:should I consider a head swap; 2:would I need anything else to get to my hp goal; 3:how difficult is installation of an elctronic ignition (I am a reasonably good garage mechanic). Any advice is welcome
Old 03-02-2006, 05:58 PM
Taste My Rainbow

go to www.hybridz,org they have the best site on engine mods and what not.
Old 03-02-2006, 06:36 PM
The Good Twin

mild cam... header... ported head... minimum 3angle valve grind... mill head (for slightly higher CR)... electric water pump... electric radiator fan.... yada yada yada.

There's tons of options to make hp... take your pick.
Old 03-02-2006, 07:11 PM

you mentioned milling my head, how much is too much, or would I get better gains switching heads...and were can I get good info on porting my head, my background is as a machinist, so the work would be right up my alley, but I don't know a whole lot about what to port ( or should I just polish the thing smooth?) Also, do you know where I can get a good fan shroud for the 260z?
Old 03-02-2006, 07:14 PM

Just swapping to an electronic ignition as you indicated and the carb change over will not gain you the power you are looking for. In fact the 4bbl swap is likely to decrease your power! Do your homework on this before jumping in, there have been MANY, MANY, MANY discussions about this swap in the past on various Z sites and it seems that the majority is against it.
Old 03-02-2006, 07:17 PM
The Good Twin

Originally Posted by scuba steve