240Z, 260Z, 280Z Performance / Technical Discussions related to performance motor enhancements, upgrades.

L26 questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2010, 08:58 AM

L26 questions

Hi guys
I'm a retired airline pilot and dedicated Ford builder...and now, somehow, a Z car owner.
A buddy of mine recently gave me a really clean 260Z, and I decided to make a toy out of it. I build Fords, as I said, so it's probably destined for a turbo 5 liter/T5 combo, eventually.
However, my buddy just rebuilt the L26, all stock, except he got his hands on the pre-emission carbs,(240Z?) which is, I suppose, a good thing. (I'm learning Z-speak, so feel free to point out any of my errors or misconceptions)
Since this motor has zero time on it, I put my efforts into appearance and handling. The thing is about ready to spray, then some interior work and she'll be ready to roll. I kept esthetics simple, shaved the bumpers so they actually fit the car, installed energy suspensions bushings, and replaced the rear taillights (and the entire rear panel) with Corvette lights. Looks good, I think...anyway, it's going 'vette yellow with twin SS style stripes in black. I'll post pics when it's got color on it.

So much for back story- here's my question.
I want to run this motor for awhile, since it's fresh, but I want to upgrade a bit-anyone know the max cam lift/duration I can go on a stocker while maintaining valve clearance?
Also, does anyone know what the max boost pressure you can get away with on a stock L26 with (I assume) cast pistons? I have a few turbos laying around, and enough of a fabrication shop to make the manifolds.

Basically, I'm leaning towards playing around with a larger cam and turbo with a nice exhaust, obviously...then I'll do the "drive it like you hate it" thing until the motor is scrap, then we'll tackle the V8 swap.