240Z, 260Z, 280Z Appearance Exterior, Interior Discussions related to performance suspension, wheels, brakes and chassis.

Z do's and do not's & Simple modifications

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2013, 11:56 PM

Lightbulb Z do's and do not's & Simple modifications

Hi I am a 20 year old university student who is working on purchasing a '73 240Z. I am new to the Z community and I am not sure what is consider acceptable modifications to this car. I have found a low rust semi-restored one(New paint, engine has been tuned) the previous owner paid people to do the work to it and thought it was a waste of money. I am planning on using it as a project for the next few years to take a break from all my work and see if I can have it ready to use as a summer (nice day) daily and just enjoy learning about the car and history that it has made.

How I began to get into Z's was through my friend who purchased a 260Z in the spring of last year. The car is very rusty, there is dents and scrapes all over the body, the suspension was partially collapsed and the carbs desperately needed tuning. Needless to say the interior was in similar condition. I thought it was a stupid purchase and really was sceptical of it. That was until I got a chance to drive it. The input to the driver is simply amazing. It reeked of exhaust and the engine was exceptionally loud as the sound deadening and roof liner was gone. You could here everything the engine was doing. The brakes steering and clutch are lovely. I honestly didn't want to get out after I drove it I just knew I had to have one.