300ZX (Z32) Forums Dedicated to 90-96 ZCars otherwize known as the Z32's

Buying that used Z32 that sort of scares you.

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2006, 08:32 PM

Buying that used Z32 that sort of scares you.

So, I'm interested in getting a Z32. Oh, right, yeah, I'm new here. I don't know if any of you saw my first post in the interiors forum, but regardless, it's great to know all of you. Anyways, right now I've got a deal on a twin turbo Z32 with 60,000 miles on it. But, there are two problems with it. The first problem is that it's an automatic. Should it matter? I'd like to think that shifting is the entire point of buying the car, because it's fun, right? Yeah, sure. But, then when you look at it, I'm a college student, and I commute back and forth to campus every day. It'd probably be a better idea to go with an automatic tranny, because it's just easier that way. Now, is there speed differences with the transmissions? I'd think that a manual transmission would provide more power to the car, having to do with shift points and such... But, couldn't chip programming just increase the rev limit and make it rev just as high as it would with a manual? Also, the car has no records of maintenence. The guy doesn't know if anything's been replaced, nothing. He does know that it's factory, but no history on the car as far as the engine goes. The engine bay seems to be clean, and the turbos work nicely. The only concern I've got is the fact that he's selling it for $4,000. The interior is mint, the car seems to be in perfect shape, but the price scares me. There's got to be something wrong with it, no?
Old 12-03-2006, 09:09 PM

Sounds like a great price