300ZX (Z31) Forums Dedicated to 84-89 ZCars otherwize known as the Z31's

No power to anything

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2014, 10:54 PM

No power to anything

Hi guys,
So I just got a 1984 300ZX Turbo from my Uncle for free. It's sat awhile and has it's problems, I have some questions because I'm new to these kind of car.

1. I have no power to anything. The battery is good, and I just replaced the cable clamps and cleaned the grounds. I checked for power and the fusible links and didn't get anything. Which means the problem is between the battery to starter cable or the starter to fusible link box right? Anything special to check first and foremost?
2. I'm going to replace the timing belt, tensioner, and water pump, is there anything else I should replace while I'm at it? And is it pretty hard to replace the timing belt?
3. My Uncle had said that the turbo compressor is bad, so what does that actually mean? (Never had a turbo car before) Do they go out often? Are they easy to replace? What are the signs of a bad turbo compressor?
Old 05-27-2014, 04:30 AM

No Power

Mo power = good fusible links, get a fsm and check out the wiring section and trouble shooting. here is a free download

XenonZ31 Reference
Old 05-27-2014, 01:53 PM

Welcome to ZDriver! Congrats on your new Z31, too

You have your FSM and can get going on bringing the car up to where you want it.

If your turbo is gone, you won't feel the turbo boost when you accelerate fast. Not too critical. Easy enough to replace or upgrade when you get to it. Better solve your electrical issues first. Rogerz has a good list of other things he recommends for newbies. Maybe he will post them here - or you can look through his posts and find his list. Check it out in his reply to HOLCOMB209 thread below.

Timing belt, etc are good ideas and should be done. Try to do it yourself and you can save some bucks. Easy enough but time consuming. Make sure you do it right tho... OEM parts still available.