280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

That's it, I'm done!

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2005, 11:55 AM
Doesn't post much...

That's it, I'm done!

So I've been dicking with this car for a little over two years now. Had such lofty plans for it and it just seems like I get further and further behind on the project as time goes by. When some stupid sonovbitch isn't hitting my car in a parking lot, or when it's not getting mauled by high speed runaway shopping carts and getting dropped off over and over at the body shop, there's always some little mechanical gnome that I have to chase. I have to spend a crap load of money again to pass smog now. Cost me 1200 bucks to pass smog two years ago, now my 2 year old oversized 3 way cat is toast, the EGR uptake tube is broken and it's a PITA to find a new one so I'm having to custom fab it. I buy a new radiator only to have it get whacked out in a month by a runaway drive belt. Now I've got little cancer bubbles coming back through at the base of the windshield... all that was supposed to be gone. I originally was going to do all the work before driving it, but I love driving it so much that I've tried to make it both a project car and a daily driver. It's not working, and everything has cost way more than I planned. I'm at least 15K into this car right now and it's still a turd compared to what I had envisioned for it. All this time, I've been wanting a Z32TT... that's been in my plans all along. I was going to have both but now I'm really starting to wonder how realistic that is. I know the Z32TT is going to cost me way more to customize and maintain than this car has. I'm about ready to just chuck this car all together. I love it, but it's draining me mentally, physically and financially. It still doesn't have the body kit, I need to replace the right front fender now (again) because it's just not right. I'm not finished with the interior, haven't even really started on the motor... ugh! Plus I keep getting conflic