280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

please help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2007, 08:49 PM

please help!

hi everyone. im a newbie. i have an '82 280zx and im having a small problem(atleast i think it's a small problem). everytime i make a stop over after driving my z for a short period of time, i notice when i restart my car, the rpm idles low/funny at about less than 500rpm. then my engine dies after a couple of seconds. when i start it back up the second time, i just give it a drive just to get to 3000rpm on the first gear. during this time, there is hesitation on the engine. all of a sudden the problem goes away and im able to drive the car again without any problem until i make another stop and restart the car again. i'ved always thought that there is a clog along the fuel line or the fuel pump is going bad. but if the fuel pump is going bad, then i wouldn't be able to start my car anymore, right?

this probelm has been going on for some time now. i had it diagnosed at a local shop a couple of times, this shop specializes on z cars, and they couldn't find the problem. they said that the fuel pressures are within limits and such. myself and the people in the shop (which are very good people)couldn't duplicate the problem everytime i bring the car to them.

please help me with this problem. i really love my z but i just dont know what to do with it everytime this problem appears. thanks.

--carlo

Last edited by mamoxxx; 01-11-2007 at 08:52 PM.
Old 01-11-2007, 09:14 PM
The Good Twin

Welcome to ZDriver!

Have you ever done a tuneup on the car? Basic stuff like plugs, wires, cap, fresh oil / coolant, etc can do wonders for a struggling engine.

First: do a visual... look for any vacuum leaks (don't just "look" but really check it out... follow all the vac lines).

Second: check timing.

Third: check your sparkplug tips. This will tell you what's going on in the combustion chamber.