280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

New 280ZX owner preping for 24hrs of Lemons

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2011, 08:48 PM

New 280ZX owner preping for 24hrs of Lemons

Hi folks. This is my first time posting here. In all honesty I've been more of a BMW guy, primarily with the old '73 BMW 2002 that I've been restoring for the last six years or so. Anyway, some friends and I finally got off our you-know-whats and decided to do a 24 Hours of Lemons race. Our trusty steed of choice was an '81 280ZX that was actually run at one Lemons race already by another friend of ours. Previously it had been stripped, had a rollcage put in, and that was pretty much it. As such, we are now trying to "take it to the next level" prior to racing at Buttonwillow in early December.

As many of you likely know, the key restrictor for Lemons is the $500 budget so we need to find performance and reliability improvements that can be done free (just elbow grease) or very cheaply. Things we are leaning towards are yanking the AC system as well as the majority of the smog system. Would love to hear any suspension advice you might have (currently stock I think and understeers quite a bit) as well as brakes, engine tweaks, weight balance, etc... Thanks so much, in advance. Should be fun!!

The Lemons Ride: Name:  TartanRacer1.jpg
Views: 52
Size:  23.2 KB

My "other" baby: Name:  JR1N1862.jpg
Views: 85
Size:  64.0 KB
Old 10-05-2011, 10:38 AM
The Good Twin

Welcome to ZDriver!!!

Our long time member & admin LWW frequents that race. I think he has several Z's that he uses:

https://www.zdriver.com/forums/showt...ghlight=Lemons

Looks fun! And I dig your 2002!
Old 10-05-2011, 12:13 PM
The Evil Twin

hey, welcome to Zdriver!

Nice Datsun 510 ....

Look into the "Z31 ECU" swap on your 280ZX. That can be pretty cheap or free if you trade parts. I'm not sure what all is allowed on your budget. That would improve torque and hp
Old 10-05-2011, 12:37 PM
Big Poppa