280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

ignition control module?

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2012, 10:22 AM

ignition control module?

Im new to the automotive mechanics world so work with me here. I own an 82 280zxt 2+2 and ive owned it for a year now but its been garaged for the past 6 months while ive been doing the best overhaul i can. It stopped running one night on the way home and ive done alot to try and eliminate the problem. Ive replaced the fuel pump, alternator, injectors, fuel pressure regulator, throttle position sensor, rewired the engine bay and replaced the ecu. The symptoms it still has is i can crank and drive it, but once i cut it off it wont crank for 8-10 hours. Im getting fuel and air and im pretty sure im getting spark. I was told that my problem is the ignition control module. Can i troubleshoot this before i dump more money or is this for sure my issue?
Old 11-21-2012, 04:24 PM
Mr Z++ Wiki

Sound like it could be the ignition module. Try spraying it with cold spray (for electronics) or take a can of duster (ala computer duster in a can) and turn it upside down so the liquid propelant comes out. Just be careful and wear gloves/goggles. That will bring the temp down and tell you if it's a thermal fault which is quite common when these fault
Old 11-21-2012, 09:01 PM

I was just told to change it so im not even sure exactly what it is. Where should i spray. A picture would be awesome.
Old 11-22-2012, 08:24 AM
Mr Z++ Wiki

It's the black plastic box with wires going into it on the side of the dizzy.
Old 11-23-2012, 01:32 AM