280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

First timer

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2006, 02:08 PM

First timer

Hello all,

This is just a little introduction on my part. I recently purchased a Datsun 1981 280ZX (2+2) with 165K miles (non-turbo); I began working on it about three weeks ago. I drove my ZX to my house and I parked it there because I have been buying the many parts I want to change on it. So far I'm trying to replace the most common parts that may need replacement, in addition to a good tune-up.

My goal, for now, is to get my ZX in good working conditions so I can drive it again. I don't plan on making my ZX a racing type vehicle, but rather a 'cruising' one; you know, the type that you drive on weekends to hang out and stuff.

I will be asking for advise from time to time, as I'm no expert by any means.

I'm working on a web based photo album for my ZX to show the progress on the car.

With that said, I'm going to start some major work on it this weekend...and I can't wait!
Old 03-14-2006, 02:14 PM
The Good Twin

Welcome! You sound excited... hopefully you will still be excited 8 hours into the major work. We're here to help ya!
Old 03-14-2006, 02:18 PM
More Than Meets The Eye

Yes welcome to zdriver, and congrats on your Z purchase. As Nismo said, we will help you all we can. So don't think you are asking a stupid question. And good luck on your project. Keep us informed bro'
Old 03-14-2006, 02:27 PM

Welcome to ZDriver. Like WildmaN said, dont be afraid to ask a question, even if you think it might be a stupid one. But if you think its a really, really, really, really, really, really stupid question like how do I get the muffler bearing on my car to coordinate with my shoelaces then you might want to keep it to yourself
Old 03-14-2006, 03:56 PM
The Cake Is A Lie!