280ZX Performance / Technical Discussions related to Turbo charging, Supercharging, Engine, ECU, exhaust, and etc. performance enhancements.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1980 280 head gasket

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2006, 07:17 PM

1980 280 head gasket

My friend has a 1980 280z (or zx, not sure). The head gasket blew a week ago so its been down. I have never worked on a Z car before and nethier has he. I am going to replace it for him and was wondering if anyone has any info that would help me. He is getting a Haynes manual. Is there any head gasket that better to use then others? I looked through this forum and Fel-pro metal gaskets seem the favorite.
Thanks for any input

Tom
Old 02-02-2006, 07:50 PM
Big Poppa

Use Fel-pro, Cheap And It Works, You Will Need The Timing Chain Tensioner Holder, It Keeps The Chain From Falling Off The Bottom Gear. There Should Be Directions In The Manual, You Can Build It From Good Quality Wood. Take The Head Off With The Intake And Exhaust On The Head, It Will Make Life Easier Later. It Should Take An Unexperienced Person 2-2.5 Hours To Get It Off. I Can Do It In And Hour, But Ive Done Lots Of Them. Any More Questions Ask Or Read The Manual.
Old 02-02-2006, 09:06 PM
The Good Twin

Originally Posted by SHADY280
Use Fel-pro, Cheap And It Works, You Will Need The Timing Chain Tensioner Holder, It Keeps The Chain From Falling Off The Bottom Gear. There Should Be Directions In The Manual, You Can Build It From Good Quality Wood. Take The Head Off With The Intake And Exhaust On The Head, It Will Make Life Easier Later. It Should Take An Unexperienced Person 2-2.5 Hours To Get It Off. I Can Do It In And Hour, But Ive Done Lots Of Them. Any More Questions Ask Or Read The Manual.
Short... sweet... and to the point!
Old 02-03-2006, 04:34 AM