280ZX Brakes, Wheels, Suspension and Chassis Discussions related to performance suspension, wheels, brakes and chassis.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hi, I'm new to Zworld

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2009, 10:16 AM

Hi, I'm new to Zworld

My 15 3/4 year-old daughter Morgan just picked up an 81 280ZX T-top 2+ (automatic trans) that sat a loooong time (bought it with 2 1/2 years of babysitting money I'm proud to say). Her Z has hardly any rust, but it does have high miles. I drove it home (@160 miles) on new gas and it 'cleared' itself out @ 50 miles into the trip. Everything seems to work believe it or not (I'm from a strong Britisc car back ground, so that shocked me;-) The rock-hard, raised-letter Firestones were OK until I opened it up; the car pulled like Jack-the-Bear and/but it torque-steered to the left as the tires started to break. Very, very impressive. At slower speeds however, planting the accelerator just makes it kick down a gear and it motors on more quickly- nothing spectacular there... its almost a little disappointing. All of the vaccuum hoses are dry-rotted, maybe that has something to do with it?

The steering seems a little vague in the middle (feels like a 60's American lux car), but beyond that it seems responsive and it tracks straight. There is no slop in the steering rod ends or the steering box and the ball joints seem tight, so I suspect its just towed out a bit (Y/N). But- all of the rubber is dry-rotted; is there a 'kit' to replace everything? Reasonable? (We're on a shoe-string budget and we can't get too crazy.) Also, the boots over the shocks are mostly rotted away, but there is only the slightest indication there was any weeping of fluid. The shocks take a knee on the bumper push-down and slowly raise the car back to it's initial road height. Any guidance/advice is greatly appreciated here.