280ZX Brakes, Wheels, Suspension and Chassis Discussions related to performance suspension, wheels, brakes and chassis.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake Problems

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2004, 02:57 PM
Heavy D

Brake Problems

For the past month or so I have been having to refill my brake fluid reservoir every week and a half. First I thout maybe one of the bleed valves on the wheels was lose, so I blead my brakes and tightened them up real nice. Still leaked. I checked my master cylinder for leaks and I couldn't see any noticeable ones. This problem is for my front brakes only so I was wondering if I should replace the Master cylinder or what? And where could I find a new or rebuilt one for a decent price, I just want to replace it because I am a daily driver and don't want to get in a wreck because of a leak in my brakes. Any and all information is welcome.

Oh I was also wondering if I should invest in some of the steel braided hose lines that MSA has, would they be worth it or should i find some stock replacements?
Old 09-26-2004, 03:08 PM

You should check you caliper pistons. Mine went bad and I found replacements at Autozone. So I replaced all four just to be on the safe side of course I didn't find this out until I had replaced ALL of my brake lines and hoses, master cylinder & resevoir. I found out because when I decided I must have bad brake pads I pulled the caliper off and the piston fell out. Hope this helps.
Old 09-26-2004, 05:39 PM
Heavy D

Does the actual caliper itself leak? I mean I can break just fine when i fill up the resevoir. Maybe Ill check them out.
Old 09-26-2004, 05:59 PM

Originally Posted by LaGSaLoT
Does the actual caliper itself leak? I mean I can break just fine when i fill up the resevoir. Maybe Ill check them out.
i just replaced a rear caliper and roter and all the pads, also purged the brake system and put all new fluid in... brakes work good now... my caliper was leaking out of the boot around the piston...