280ZX Appearance Exterior, Interior Discussions related to body kits, accessories, interiors, window tinting etc.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Headliner needs attending

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2006, 11:49 AM

Thumbs down Headliner needs attending

I have an original 81 and the headliner is finally starting to lift off by the T-tops. I have never done one of these before so I plan on taking it a trim shop to have it done, but I want to make sure these guys are on the up-and-up. What I"m looking for his some basic knowledge - does the vinyl get glued to a board and then put up in the overhead? Should it be trimmed a little larger the needed to consider for folding over the board and shinkrage considerations? Does anyone know if the vinyl sold at MSA is a good quality or should I just let the trim shop provide their material, too.? Any other tips I should look for would be greatly appreciated, too.

Thanks.
Old 06-06-2006, 01:19 PM
Queen of Yachts

Location: warmspott, trollville.......somewhere sailing the seas--fla, virgin islands...wherever....warm water....LOL
the 300zx ttops headliner comes already glued to a backing, ready to install. hehehe. i need to do this to my AE, but i live close enough to mexico.....
Old 06-06-2006, 02:11 PM
Super Siver & Black Stud

they glue a thin foam pad to the backboard then they glue the vinyl to the thin foam pad.. trim it but i would tim it a little longer .. most of the over hang is coverd by the plastic trim pieces... its really not that hard to do you can probably do it yourself....
Old 06-06-2006, 02:41 PM

yup its quiet easy to do...heres what mine looks like..out of the car, when i put it in all the wrinkles tighten up because of the plastic mouldings that Ice mentioned. i can take a pic inside the car with the trim on too if you want...
Old 06-06-2006, 07:47 PM

I just put a new headliner in mine too, I actually used the headliner out of a 2001 Cadillac Deville and just cut it to the right shape.