240Z, 260Z, 280Z (S30) Forums Dedicated to first generation ZCars

Virgin 280z

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2011, 06:01 PM

Virgin 280z

Hey ya all! I am a newbie and have some issues with my newly purchased 1978 280z. Long story short: I rode the Greyhoundbus for 18hrs to pick up the 280z. Not pleasant... smelly, noisy and a rattle and shaking like you can't believe. The car was in much worse shape in person and the owner also failed to let me know that the tags had expired. My first instinct was to turn around, but the thought of another 18hr Greyhound trip was too much to bare, so I bought the car anyway. Yeh, the car ran...barely, and the local DMV was closed, so I couldn't get a temporary driving permit. I took the chance of a lifetime...driving a 33year old car in really bad shape with no guarante to make it home and no tag. Needles to say it was a very smelly, noisy, rattle and shake and very tense trip...I was scared shitless, but I made it.

I have done the normal tune ups like seafoam, new oil, fixed vacum lines, sparkplugs, airfilter, oilfilter and adjusted ignition timing. The car actually runs really great now, but have some issues.

1) The car starts right up, but will only idle at 600rpm when cold, but when warmed up it idles good at 800rpms. What gives?

2) The temp gauge needle will cover the letter F(middle) when I have warmed up the car and lets it idle, but as soon as I start driving it falls slightly below F.

3) The previouse owner failed smog due to HC. My failed smog had no HC problems, but failed due to too high CO.

I cleaned out the thermostat housing (corrosion and rust) flushed radiator and cleaned up all the sensors and swithches. I did however use sandpaper to sand the sensors down lightly. Could this have damaged the sensor/s?

If you have had similar problems and think you know, then I would really appreciate your feedback.

Thanks in advance
Old 06-17-2011, 06:41 PM
The Good Twin

Welcome to ZDriver!