240Z, 260Z, 280Z Motor Swaps (non-V8) L28ET RB SR KA VG VQ 2JZ etc....

78' Turbo 280z problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2010, 12:06 AM

78' Turbo 280z problems

New Problem!
I have a new problem now, an old one, but one im wanting to know about now. I leak maybe a drop or 2 every day from the oil lines connecting to the turbo, and after driving it in boost, it smokes when i come to a stop through the hood. This is my first turbo car so im a newbie! Is this extremely bad, or just something i need to fix on payday?

Problem Fixed!
Just bought this car a week ago, ran fine when i test drove it 2 days in a row, and the whole ride home, other than minor overheating. Now randomly after taking it to a shop to do plugs, valve cover gasket, and redo alot of the shady wiring/vacuum lines it has trouble starting. If i let it sit for awhile it fires right up, sometimes it drives fine, other times i cant get down the street. It has new plugs, ignition wires, accell starter, fuel filter, intake filter. Its a 280zx turbo motor. Ill post pics of the car/motor bay tomorrow. Any advice, or questions that lead to advice on how to fix are appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails 78' Turbo 280z problems-z1.jpg   78' Turbo 280z problems-z2.jpg   78' Turbo 280z problems-z3.jpg   78' Turbo 280z problems-z4.jpg  

Last edited by DevilZ; 05-01-2010 at 03:06 PM.
Old 04-26-2010, 07:36 AM
The Good Twin

Welcome to ZDriver!

Start w/ the basics... when it dies, is it due to lack of spark, or fuel? Or is it flooding?
Old 04-26-2010, 12:51 PM