240Z, 260Z, 280Z Brakes, Wheels, Suspension and Chassis Discussions related to performance suspension, wheels, brakes and chassis.

280zx suspension on a 240z?

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2007, 10:40 PM

280zx suspension on a 240z?

Hey guys. So my friend Daniel and I have been doing work to his 280zx Turbo for the past 6 months, and we finally decided that while the motor is great, there is just too much rust to combat with and too much body work/repair that will need to be done for the car to ever look good. He was searching on eBay and found a guy here locally with a 1971 240z Rolling Chassis (blown motor) for $900 so he bought it and we just finished pulling the motor and transmission so we could implant the 280zx motor into it and possibly the transmission as well (hoping it's not a BW, we can't tell atm).

So as we were pulling the motor, I noticed that the struts and the front crossmember are pretty rusted (could be surface, haven't checked), and I know personally that all the suspension and crossmember parts from the 280zx are in good condition. Since both are 3-lug struts, does anyone know if the crossmembers would bolt up? This car looks like it hasn't run in about 20 years, so everything has a nice amount of rust on it and I would prefer to use parts that I know work since i have both cars at my disposal.

Just wondering if anyone knows. We may try to do it anyway just incase, but just want to know before hand so we don't spend any more wasted time than what is needed.

Also, we end up using the 4-speed tranny until we find an N/A zx Tranny (if it turns out to be a BW) does anyone know if I would be able to put the clutch fork from the zx tranny into the 240z 4-speed so that I could use the good master and slave cylinders that we have from the 280zx...

Any help appreciated...
Old 04-20-2007, 11:01 PM
Über User