The Lounge (Off Topic) Talk about daily events, or other items not really related to the ZCars in any way.

for you motorcyclists

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2010, 05:12 PM
Pr0n Addict

for you motorcyclists

i've been away from the forum for a while because i've been all wrapped up in motorcycles since i got one a couple months ago (nothing nice. '83 suzuki sp125. tops out around 63).

anyway, i've got a question about performance riding. before you make a crack about the type of bike i'm on, keep in mind that i'm not really pushing it, just driving "spiritedly" and most of this wonderment will really be put to use when, if ever, i find myself on a real street bike. so, here goes.

in a car, i have gotten to the point that i can put the car right on the edge of its performance potential in a turn, give it more, and correct the loss of control all pretty smoothly with a little throttle input and a little steering input. not to say i'm a good driver, or a fast driver, but i'm not crazy intimidated about the outer limits of the car's limitations anymore (all this at low speeds on vacant roads with wide shoulders).

on a motorcycle, this becomes a different feat. if i go past the limit and fail to correct properly, the list of negative after-affects is too long to list here. so, to avoid going out there and f-ing stuff up while i'm trying to learn this, i'm hoping to hear it from you seasoned riders that have probably wrecked a few times . how do you know you're near the edge? how do you correct? what warnings would you give?

peace.
Old 07-08-2010, 05:33 PM
Political n00b crusher

I guess the best advice I could give you regarding cornering on a bike is: enter slow, exit fast. You never want to go into a curve too hot....nothing good will come out of it. As a beginning motorcyclist, you should enter every curve slowly and you'll know with time how fast you can approach a curve. As I said, you can always increase your speed through the curve. Hope this helps...