280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

Yet another new guy with a ZX...

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2005, 04:39 PM

Yet another new guy with a ZX...

Hey everyone... I'm The Swede and I'm new to the import, nissan, and Z cars... yeah I know- I'm hopeless. Anyways, I have been looking for a daily driver to replace the 94 spirit I was driving and picked up this pretty nice '83 280zx. It was driven by an old couple for the past 3 years or so once a week, and hadn't even topped the 3K milage for the next oil change. It's very faded-red, auto, and has about 170,000 miles on the odo.

I've already changed the plugs and wires, fuel filter and oil and filter. May change the air filter soon, but it doesn't need it yet... I dunno. Anyways... here are some questions I have if y'all could be so kind as to answer them for a noob:

Problems:
- There is a small clunk coming from the right front suspension when it cycles, either up or down.. I haven't dealt much with strut type suspensions (normally my specialy is older mustangs) so I'm not sure what it could be. I've listened to it and the only thing I can think of is possibly the strut mount on top? ANy ideas?
- There is some hesitation off idle and into accelerating. I replaced fuel filter (mainly because I do it on any car I buy) but it helped a little. Anything else I can think of is maybe the pcv valve needs cleaning/replacing, or maybe the tps sensor is out of adjustment. Everynow and then it sounds like it hickups a bit or bogs down when I stab the gas at idle... possibilities?

Upgrades: