280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

Stalling issues

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2013, 09:51 AM

Stalling issues

I searched and searched could find the thread I wanted so I'm going to start this one ... sorry guys
I have an 82 280zx non turbo after about 15 minutes to 20 minutes about the time it takes to get up to temp the car just dies/stalls. I can't figure it out. It starts up like nothing happened after the first stall it'll stall again but not always right away... sometimes it does tho. Please help I am not an expert mechanic but do know my way around a car. Truthfully I'm not very good with the electrical testing and am not sure I'm doing things right. I live in northern Ohio so I only get about 6 to 8 months to drive my Z but it truely is a pain when you can't figure out and all my mechanic buddies have lil experience with these cars... they are much younger than I am. I can give you any additional info. Btw when i picked her up last year it didnt have this problem I did all the basic maintainance on her plus had to throw in an alternator..... I also replaced and/or clean up most of the grounds on her. Desparately seeking insight. And thanx
Old 05-11-2013, 05:51 PM
Mr Z++ Wiki

XenonS130 and download the FSM

Check the CHTS first...
Old 05-12-2013, 12:24 AM

so it could be a few things... the CHTS. Does it run rough? If it runs fine and then just suddenly shuts down it could be the Ignition Control Module on the side of the distributor. My Z should run fine and the suddenly stall on me. On my Z (1983 NA) it was the fuel pump. It's not good to run your Z on Empty... from what I hear the gas actually lubricates the pump and so running it on empty is not good for the gas pump. I changed the fuel pump and it was all gravy.
Old 05-12-2013, 05:11 AM