280ZX Brakes, Wheels, Suspension and Chassis Discussions related to performance suspension, wheels, brakes and chassis.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

new guy...

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2011, 07:49 PM

new guy...

ok so i just got a 280zx (1980) and i have looked around at wheels and tires. i see alot of ppl running much larger sets than stock and my question is how much suspension upgrades are necessary to run 17s and these fat tires i keep seeing? is there anything i can get as far as going a lil bigger and not have to do much (if anything) to the suspension but not cause problems? i know if u go too big or change offset too much u can put extra stress on the car so i am trying to avoid that. i plan to upgrade suspension bits later but for now im trying to get somethin decent to roll on to replace the beat up stockers.

thnx for any help!
also im new to z's and modifying cars in general... sorry if i missed this thread... i was lookin and didnt find anything that really fit wat i was askin. please point me to this thread if it exists!
Old 01-02-2011, 09:31 AM
More Than Meets The Eye

Welcome to Zdriver man.

As for converting to 17's and such. I don't know a lot about that. I stick to 15's on my Z's. But there are plenty of people on here, that have converted to bigger wheels and tires. I am sure they can help you out. Good luck with your Z man.
Old 01-02-2011, 09:47 AM

Thnx man. I was thinkin about stayin at 15"s as well but I'd wanna go wider if I stayed there... U know anything about just goin wider? Maybe bigger tires? I wanna keep the car streetable but want it to have. Show and go... Know wat I mean?
Old 01-02-2011, 12:47 PM

Originally Posted by theguy106
ok so i just got a 280zx (1980) and i have looked around at wheels and tires. i see alot of ppl running much larger sets than stock and my question is how much suspension upgrades are necessary to run 17s and these fat tires i keep seeing?