300ZX (Z31) Forums Dedicated to 84-89 ZCars otherwize known as the Z31's

Fan on engine stopped working

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2014, 12:41 AM

Fan on engine stopped working

Hi, I'm a new z driver and don't know a whole lot about cars, mostly the basics and decently handy in fixing things (have done some semi-big repairs on a motorcycle). I just never got into cars until now (having a z car has increased my interest!!).

The plastic vents/ducts/whatever they're called have a fan that blows on the engine after you turn off the car (I'm assuming to cool the engine down properly but not sure). Well when I bought the car, it was working, but now it's stopped. I can't seem to find it anywhere in manuals or info about it because I don't know what it's called.

Is it hard to fix? And is it super necessary to fix asap or how long can it go without it? I'm asking because I'm about to go on a trip for the holidays and don't want to screw something up, but I don't have time to take it in to get it fixed!

Please go easy on the noob, I really want to learn about cars!
Old 12-21-2014, 04:23 AM

Originally Posted by linkovich
The plastic vents/ducts/whatever they're called have a fan that blows on the engine after you turn off the car (I'm assuming to cool the engine down properly but not sure). Well when I bought the car, it was working, but now it's stopped. I can't seem to find it anywhere in manuals or info about it because I don't know what it's called. Is it hard to fix?
Welcome to ZDriver!

I'll be brave and tell you that anything and everything on your Z can be fixed. It's just a pretty complex machine put together by humans for other humans. If you are a human - and it is a Z - it can be fixed.