240Z, 260Z, 280Z (S30) Forums Dedicated to first generation ZCars

Given a 1971 240Z to restore...

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2013, 09:43 PM

Given a 1971 240Z to restore...

Hey all,
I'll start my story off with some background. I am an auto mechanic by trade, fresh out of tech school and working for Firestone. My Grandfather bought a 1971 240Z new in 1972, and drove it for a few years before parking it in an open car port for the better part of 20 years. He then moved it to an enclosed storage facility, but not after the elements had done their work on the car. He decided to task me with restoring it as a side project when he found out I was looking at purchasing one, and plans to give it to me when I'm done.
After the ordeal of towing to my place, I began to inspect it as thoroughly as I could, knowing that these cars accumulate rust like hookers accumulate STD's. The car is a series 1 240z, with just over 56k original miles. The engine is in pristine condition, and aside from some cracked vacuum hoses, and SU's in need of rebuilding due to sitting so long, the engine appears pristine. According to my Grandfather, it started right up about 10 years ago with no issues. I plan to start it up but haven't purchased a battery yet, and the ignition cylinder is frozen and beyond repair according to a locksmith (so a new one is in order). Interior is beautiful, besides all the carpet and insulation that I tore out, and I have a mint condition 240z dash with no cracks waiting to replace the original. On to the bad though.