240Z, 260Z, 280Z (S30) Forums Dedicated to first generation ZCars

240z won't start

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2014, 03:16 PM

240z won't start

Hey guys I am fairly new with these cars.

I am working on restoring my '72 240z and it won't turn over. I tested the starter and it works fine. When I put the key in all I get is the choke light coming on. I am assuming the wiring is screwy somewhere but I really have no idea where to start.

Where should I be looking? When the key is in the "on" position, should I be seeing more lights? I can't even put the headlights or anything on.

I get a click from the starter when i try to turn it over. I had pulled the starter out, hooked it up to a battery and jumped the solenoid and everything worked properly. I tried jumping the solenoid with the starter on the car and it just clicks. So I'm guessing the starter is screwed, is there any way to test that?

Thanks in advance

Last edited by InfiniteRPM; 11-26-2014 at 04:06 PM.
Old 11-26-2014, 05:51 PM

First, download a copy of the FSM from XenonS30.
Next, check your http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fusible_link. It's the wire coming off of your starter. If it is bad, you need to replace it with another fusible link. Do not use regular wire.

Also, how old is your battery? Check the voltage with a voltmeter while someone is cranking the starter. A bad battery can have 12+ VDC while not under load and drop to zero with load.
Attached Thumbnails 240z won't start-fusible-link-photo.jpg   240z won't start-fusible-link2.jpg   240z won't start-fusible-link.jpg  
Old 11-27-2014, 12:14 PM

Sure sounds like a weak battery or bad battery connections.

Headlights, which draw a lot of current, won't come on but the choke light, which is a minimal draw, will.

With the key in the on position, your turn signals should work, radio should work and of course if your choke is on, that light should come on as well. Your dome light should always work.