ZDriver.com

ZDriver.com (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/)
-   Australia (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/australia-21/)
-   -   z melbourne-fill me in!!! (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/australia-21/z-melbourne-fill-me-1668/)

toecutter 03-27-2002 07:20 AM

z melbourne-fill me in!!!

ok where do I start?
Cool an oz z site! I'm fairly new to the z scene. I really liked the early z's lines so I kept an eye out for a 240z. Not being able to find a reasonably priced 240 without heaps of rust I settled for a 75 260 that had a bit of work already done on it.
ie L26 refreshed and rewired, 5 speed box, new brakes (still rear drums), new shocks, front end redone, 2.5" pipe, reupolstered white interior with new skin on dash and every thing working minus clock, new tyres, all stock and orig ready for reg. Tiny rust spots but ready for that sky blue!!!
Anyway, the guys wife was freakin' so I picked it up for $1200 which I think is cheap. Currently it's sittng at my folks place minus interior, (to which a freind of mine is making some changes, removing some shitty inserts on the front seats.). The car will be getting a respray soon which will be a 'sky blue' colour.

Question 1. I think it is an orig colour for the z, anybody got a paint code for this color, (like the one at the bottom of the page)?

2. I keep hearing people say that they have early model SU's in their cars. Why are they better than the later carbs, (say 75'/76')?

3. I'm in the middle of a pain in the ass search for wheels. I wanted a set of period style wheels but in at least a 16". The idea of running spacers is a bit of a turn off! Any suggestions?
I might make the compromise of buying the 15"x8" from performance wheels, (the SUPERLITES). I can get this for $190- per rim, ( 1st quote was $255). Run them on 205x60 front n 225x55 back, (or 225x55 frnt n 245x50 bck if they fit), to get correct rolling diameter. Still not sure but I would love to see some of the Aussie Z pics guys!?!?

www.performwheels.com.au