300ZX (Z32) Performance / Technical Discussions related to Turbo charging, Supercharging, Engine, ECU, exhaust, and etc. performance enhancements and Techical related.

Ignition Coil Wiring

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2005, 03:45 PM

Ignition Coil Wiring

ok... next problem to deal with

My car was idling really rough and accelerating even rougher in lower rpm's... so I took it to the shop and it turns out my number 4 ignition coil was shorted out... so replaced that but still doesnt run smooth, so broke out the oscilliscope and checked the wiring going to the coil... and the red wire going to it is getting surges like it has a partial short which is causing the low rpm roughness... soo through all my attempts at troubleshooting this problem (Im still a noob when it comes to cars) I have come to the conclusion that I should replace the wiring there especially since it looks a bit corroded... so I was wondering where exactly these wires go and if they are part of a harness where I can purchase a replacement... because although I work on electronics and am confident I could just cut and splice in some wire of the same gauge I would prefere to do it properly.

and if Im just off in the corner of space somewhere on the wrong track any help would be appreciated, Im still learning
Old 12-30-2005, 07:26 PM
Jack Of All Trades

You might try checking the PTU per the FSM...... HERE and clean the connections.
Old 12-31-2005, 03:20 AM

Thanks, i'll try that... time to break out the multimeter.

btw is that where the wires from the ignition coil go? or do they go to a module under the dash on passenger side(I forgot the name of it)?
Old 12-31-2005, 05:53 AM
Jack Of All Trades

Originally Posted by Aphrodite
btw is that where the wires from the ignition coil go? or do they go to a module under the dash on passenger side(I forgot the name of it)?
C/P wires go to the PTU and then the ECU........ SEE HERE
Old 12-31-2005, 12:19 PM