300ZX (Z32) Forums Dedicated to 90-96 ZCars otherwize known as the Z32's

Need help

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2008, 06:55 AM

Need help

First, hello to everyone. I just want to say I've been viewing the site and using its many resources for years and have been able to fix most of my cars problems through the sites many resources, but this is my first time registered.

Recently I started dental school and no longer have time to play around with the car so I decided to take my extra loan money and fix the Z with a little overhaul. The car ran beautifully for the first 2 days but then the boost started to lock at around 5-7. I checked around z driver and ran a diagnostic and I indeed got code 34. Does this mean its the sensor or is the car actually detonating? Nissan's overhaul included plugs, valves, injectors, fuel rail, seals, new fuel hoses, vacuum lines, clutch, rear seal, and some others I probably left out, also the car has the Jim Wolf upgrade and I normally run around 14-15lbs. Do you think they might have damaged the sensor? Also I think I hear an air noise coming from the back of the engine somewhere when I slightly open the throttle it may sound like a suction but I'm not to sure. Any other reasons this might have happened and if its already posted somewhere would anyone mind posting the link to the solution. Thank You guys.
Old 04-16-2008, 07:45 AM
caught the z fever

how many miles? what grade gas?

Getting a code 34 basically just means theres a fault in the system. it is probably your sensor. also, if you dont know, the sensor doesnt detect detonation over 3000 or so rpm.
Old 04-16-2008, 09:17 AM

I always use 93 octane gas and the car has about 119,500 miles on it. What do you recommend also thank you for the quick response and do you think I have an argument to take to nissan to try to get them to fix it for close to nothing sense they did have the upper engine apart and this could have been resolved easily and I did spend alot of money