300ZX (Z32) Forums Dedicated to 90-96 ZCars otherwize known as the Z32's

buying a TT z32

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2010, 10:59 AM

buying a TT z32

i have always loved the z32s but never owned one... im currently in the market for one and found a 90 TT with 107,000 miles at a used car lot. i havent seen it in person yet but ive seen pics of it online. it looks pretty clean overall but it has a R-title cause of theft recovery. on the website it says they installed new HEADS,CLUTCH,BRAKES,BELTS,HOSES,ETC. the price was 7 grand but they dropped it to 5 cause they said it started to smoke, they think its cause it needs a new turbo. i dont know if its white or black smoke yet. im going to check it out tomorrow but i just wanted to see if there is anything that i should be aware of or anything that i should look for. or anything that i need to be prepared for if i do buy it. im new to the z's and would appreciate any help. thanks
Old 05-09-2010, 11:14 AM
Encyclopedic Knowledge

If it needs a turbo replacement and you are not SERIOUSLY mechanically inclined, that $5k is going to quickly turn into $8k after you spend the money to fix it. Even if you can do it yourself, you're probably looking at $1k in parts and labor and two days (at least) to do it.

(And as I recall, the smoke from a dying turbo has more of a bluish hue... white would be coolant, black means it's running rich.)

Also, the fact that the heads were replaced would have me concerned... find out why.
Old 05-09-2010, 11:39 AM