ZDriver.com

ZDriver.com (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/)
-   300ZX (Z31) Performance / Technical (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/300zx-z31-performance-technical-227/)
-   -   overheatin gradually gets hotter turbo makes it hot fast (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/300zx-z31-performance-technical-227/overheatin-gradually-gets-hotter-turbo-makes-hot-fast-32970/)

Beaneriser 07-02-2011 03:19 AM

overheatin gradually gets hotter turbo makes it hot fast

1984 300zx turbo I just bought it today i can drive fine as long as i stay under 3000 rpms but when it boost it heats up quick. it slowly got hotter on the way back from buying it so it might need a radiator flush but when the boost kicks in it heats up kinda quick not right away i boosted a couple times on the way home but by the time i got home it was boiling. any common problems with these cars i need to know that might cause this i am new to the 300 zx and i looked around the forum and couldnt find what i needed so i am posting thanx

omniserv 07-02-2011 12:23 PM

Check your thermostat. Is the radiator getting hot, if not than the thermostat is not opening.

Is there enough coolant? Are the belts tight for the water pump? Does the clutch fan lockup like it should when it's hot?

rogerz 07-02-2011 07:35 PM

did some moron remove the fan shroud. that will cause problems.

Beaneriser 07-03-2011 08:11 AM

ok i have flushed the radiator and and there was SAND in the over flow tank i am still flushing it and i am gonna take out the thermostat today to check that it now will idle as long as i want it too but the minute you you hit the 3000 rpm range it still heats up quick...and what shroud do you mean?

Beaneriser 07-03-2011 09:03 AM

Originally Posted by omniserv (Post 297513)
Check your thermostat. Is the radiator getting hot, if not than the thermostat is not opening.

Is there enough coolant? Are the belts tight for the water pump? Does the clutch fan lockup like it should when it's hot?