300ZX (Z31) Forums Dedicated to 84-89 ZCars otherwize known as the Z31's

PWR mirrors done lights and HVAC all not working?

Old 06-08-2014, 07:56 PM

PWR mirrors done lights and HVAC all not working?

Greetings fellow Z lovers!!!!

Three days ago all these components were working fine then all of a sudden they all stopped working at the same time. MORE INFO: Fueses are good. The digital dash works (did the standard Powerbox repair), the power windows work. There is no radio in it at all right now it's empty space the power seats work too. What does not work: None of the climate controls work (no pwer), interior lights, clock and pwr mirrors-

Is there some common switch or fuse, it's odd they all cut out at the same time...

Help?

Again folks I am new to working on cars and using the FSM the wiring diagrms look like greek to me... Any help on this issue would be greatly appreciated

Last edited by 88z31Silver; 06-09-2014 at 06:54 PM.
Old 06-08-2014, 09:00 PM

mass electrical issues

When a Z all of a sudden looses a chunk of electronics or accessories, most likely a Fusible link has fried, it happens and sometimes they can be stressed and not fail completely then out of the blue they take another surge and poof !
check your fusible link box under the hood, sometimes the wire inside can be burnt thru and the plastic sheath is intact, so check the on a meter !
Old 06-09-2014, 10:29 AM
Grumpy & Helpful

have you even checked the fuses? your question is of the "I tried nothing and it still doesn't work" variety. Do you know where the fuse box is? we help those who help themselves as we are not clairvoyant
Old 06-09-2014, 05:26 PM

Originally Posted by rogerz
have you even checked the fuses? your question is of the "I tried nothing and it still doesn't work" variety. Do you know where the fuse box is? we help those who help themselves as we are not clairvoyant