300ZX (Z31) Forums Dedicated to 84-89 ZCars otherwize known as the Z31's

86 NA Z31 won't start on 86 ECU, but will start on 88 ECU

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2017, 09:32 PM

86 NA Z31 won't start on 86 ECU, but will start on 88 ECU

Hi everyone,

First of all, thanks to everyone that contributes to this forum; I've been browsing old threads for weeks now, and it has been immensely helpful.

So to the problem:

A few weeks ago, I purchased an '86 NA Auto Z31 in California while I'm here for the summer. I have no prior experience with the Z31, so diagnosing this car's problems has been quite the experience for me. The car runs and drives, and did so when I purchased it. Right off the bat, however, I noticed a pretty significant exhaust smell in the cabin; when I bought the car, I assumed this was caused by some sort of exhaust leak, but I was soon proven otherwise.

My primary mistake here is that I bought the car without an updated smog test; the car had been smogged the previous year, and I assumed that I could do so again without significant issue. However, when I brought the car in to get smogged, the test showed HUGE amounts of CO and HC - something like 10x over the legal limit, if I remember correctly. NOx was borderline, but not obscene. The conclusion here is that the car appears to be running extremely rich, which makes sense given the fact that I basically smell unburnt fuel in the cabin all the time.

I started off by checking all the ECU codes, but I quickly realized that the car was not running an 86 ECU - rather, it was fitted with an A18-A03M87 for an 88 NA Auto Cal emissions Z31. It seems like this ECU is fairly similar to the 86 ECU, except for a few key differences:
-Injector impedance
-Presence of an EGT sensor (the 86 model does not have this sensor)
-O2 Sensor Type (88 ECU expects Zirconium, but my engine has Titania)