300ZX (Z31) Forums Dedicated to 84-89 ZCars otherwize known as the Z31's

Back on a Z

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2018, 02:25 PM

Back on a Z

Hi there!!! After 30 years, I calmed the itch of having another Z. I had a 1976 280Z back in high school which I couldn't enjoy that much since I didn't have enough funds back then to keep it running. By the time I sold it, it was so rusted that I could see the road through the floor like Fred Flintstone. My background is dealing with Water Cooled VWs, Hondas, LS1s, and recently European. I'm a Mechanical Engineer that enjoys working on cars and motorcycles. I just bought a 1986 Turbo Z31 5 spd. from one of the members here (I think jv1986zx???) in Miami. The car has good bones with a healthy engine and I'm continuing the legacy to make it better. For now, I'm dealing with all aesthetic matters and then I will look into more horses for the stable. Plans for the engine are a 2 stage boost controller with the mandatory AFR & Boost Gauges, Upgraded Fuel Pump and FPR, Additional Injectors/controller on Charge Pipe(Want to keep the stock ECU), Air to Water Intercooler (Don't want to cut the car for the IC piping), Water/Methanol Injection, Pure Turbo T3 upgrade(Want to keep the stock Turbo look), and an upgraded clutch among other stuff. I want to keep a sleeper look and all the creature comforts. I'll keep you all posted on the progress.

R

Regards,
Old 06-02-2018, 09:39 PM
The Good Twin

Welcome to ZDriver! And great score!

You've got quite the list... from what you plan to do, I can't imagine leaving the stock ecu... might as well go Nistune. And when you stay "two stage boost controller" you mean the "low & high" setting boost controller? For $50-$100 more you can go fully adjustable EBC. Greddy and HKS both have quality units for decent prices.
Old 06-03-2018, 08:22 AM

Originally Posted by NismoPick
Welcome to ZDriver! And great score!