ZDriver.com

ZDriver.com (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/)
-   280ZX Performance / Technical (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/280zx-performance-technical-79/)
-   -   Can somone pleazzze help? (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/280zx-performance-technical-79/can-somone-pleazzze-help-6988/)

duckyz 09-05-2003 10:16 PM

Can somone pleazzze help?

I was getting ready to prep my '83n/a for her "big day" tomorrow (new muffler, inspection, etc...) and she crapped out on me. I cranked her up, expected a little bitching 'cause I hadn't started her in a month.....but this was a tirade. It sounded like a steam engine, sputted and putted.....then nada, nothing, dead, no-worky. There was no gas fumes, nothing wet on the plugs, wouldn't even start again. I opened up the AFM just a tad, and even wacked it with my screwdriver for good luck.....still nothing.

Now, for those of you that don't know me, I've been working on "Stephanie" for about 2 years now to get her back in shape for the daily grind. I had her out a few times and she ran stronger each time. I just can't seem to figure this one out.

I'll be under the hood tomorrow, so if you see this please post any remedies you may have quickly. My goal was to have it "street legal" by the first......but that ain't happenin', I guess.

:(

Thanks to everyone who helped me get this far!!!!!

icice9 09-06-2003 01:07 AM

sound like she wants to run but shes not getting the fuel... you might want to start by spraying some carb cleaner in the air box and try cranking her while doing so... she sould fire up.. let her idle for a while..and then give her a lil gas... see if that helps... your injectors might be a lil dried up and clogged or your cold start isnt working right.... but id try the carb cleaner in the air box first....

280zx Fever 09-06-2003 04:48 AM

Sounds same shit that happend to me :(

What i did was pull the fuel rail out lay it on the inlet manifold connected spin the engine over to make sure i was getting fuel.